Modern History of Hawaii
Time Periods

Time Period 1: 1778 - 1848: European Contact to the Great Mahele
1778: Captain Cook lands at Waimea, Kauai
1782-1810: Unification of Hawaii: Civil War among ruling chiefs
1810: Establishment of a Monarchy for the Hawaiian islands under Kamehameha the Great
1823: Sunday declared Sabbath by King’s criers (missionary influence in Hawaii)
1839: Kamehameha III (Kauikeaouli) declares a Declaration of Human Rights (vested rights of government, chiefs, native tenants)
1840: Constitution of the Kingdom of Hawaii (cessation of absolute monarchy: executive, legislative, judicial branches of government established)
1843: The Paulette Episode (major land dispute initiated by an Englishman)
1845: The Land Commission is established (partially in response to the Paulette Episode) to invesigate land titles

Time Period 2: 1848 - 1893: The Great Mahele to the Business Revolution
1848: The Great Mahele: Three designated land titles are created: Crown lands, Government lands, Commoner lands
1850: The Kuleana Act: assured titles for maka'ainana
1859: The Civil Code of the Hawaii Islands are passed
1874: The Royal Elections of 1874 and the Honolulu Court House Riot
1875: The Treaty of Reciprocity
1887: The Bayonet Constitution of the Kingdom of Hawaii
1893: The Overthrow of the Monarchy by Hawaii’s Businessmen

Time Period 3: 1893 - 1941: United States of America Annexation of Hawaii to World War II
1893: Overthrow of Liliuokalani
1897: Petition Against Annexation
1898: Annexation of Hawaii by the United States of America (The Newlands Resolution)
1900: The Hawaiian Organic Act
1905: Revised Laws of the Territory of Hawaii
1920: Hawaiian Homes Commission Act (enacted 1921)

Time Period 4: 1941 - 1959: World War II to Statehood

Time Period 5: 1959 - Present: Statehood to Today

Time Period 6: 1900 - Present: Accelerating Global Change

Download Time Periods: Word or PDF